Previsualization

dancing in the rain

“Visualization is the single most important factor in photography” Ansel Adams

I was standing in the window in the evening watching one of the many rain storms we received last week. As the storm was nearly over the sun started to peak out from the clouds. As I was looking into the west the sun was backlighting the rain drops as they fell. I thought wouldn’t this make a cool image with some flowers and backlit rain drops. At that moment I visualized this photo in my mind.

Now how did I make it happen?

As I prepared to shot this image last night, I was missing one key ingredient, it was not raining. The sun was shining and I had some nice flowers, but no rain.

So after some experimenting I created rain using a spray bottle. I sat my flowers on the west side of my deck with some nice evening sun behind it to back light the rain. The bokeh was created by a beech tree in our yard. I set my shutter speed to 1/60th of a sec, to allow the water drops to create the motion of a rain drop. I adjusted my f-stop from there to get a good exposure. To add some light to the front of the flowers I set up an off camera speed light as a slave at 1/8 power to add just bit of light.

The flowers were pre-sprayed before the shot to make some nice water droplets. During the shot the water was sprayed behind the flowers and not directly on the flowers to minimize any movement the spray would cause on the flowers. My camera (#Nikon D90) was on a tripod about 4 feet from the flowers and shutter was release by remote so I could spray water with my left hand and operate the remote with my right.

Please feel free to comment on my post,

You can see more of my photography on my Flickr page at http://www.flickr.com/photos/baw26/
or if you are interested in purchasing one of my photos go to http://fineartamerica.com/art/all/Bruce+Wunderlich/all

Now get out there with your camera and shoot Nature

About Bruce Wunderlich

Bruce Wunderlich is a photographer from Marietta, Ohio. He became interested in photography as a teenager in the 1970s, and has been a passionate student of the art ever since. Bruce recently won Photographer’s Choice award and Grand Prize at the 2015 Shoot the Hills Photography Competition in the Hocking Hills near Logan, Ohio. He has also instructed local classes in basic digital photography. Check out Bruce’s photos at Flickr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

