New Year, New Goals

sunrise-over-Marietta

Sunrise over Marietta

If you don’t set a goal you will never achieve a goal. That may sound like something Yogi Berra would say, but it’s true! Setting goals for improving your photography skills can be a valuable way to help you grow as a photographer. Maybe it’s your goal to learn to use Manual Mode in 2016, or something as simple as just getting out and shooting more. The purpose of making these goals is to keep us always striving for a higher level in our photography. You should set goals that are reachable for you, because success inspires the direction of your next goal!
This past year was a banner year for my photography experiences, with so many highlights! I enjoyed spending time with great photography friends, photographing eagles in Iowa in January, and bears in the Great Smoky Mountains in June. Receiving awards at the Shoot the Hills photo competition in Hocking Hills fulfilled one of my 2015 goals, and was a gratifying experience for me. My goals for 2016 are to continue to write articles for DPS and to also write more articles here on my own blog, which will be much shorter and will usually just include one image.

Crank it up!

The image above is of a sunrise I captured over my home town of Marietta, Ohio, shot on my way to work on a recent December morning. There wasn’t time to get my tripod out and set the shot up like I normally would do, so I opted to quickly capture it hand held. To achieve a shutter speed that I could hand hold, I cranked up my ISO until I set a shutter speed that matched the mm of my lens (50mm lens = 60th of second shutter speed).

About Bruce Wunderlich

Bruce Wunderlich is a photographer from Marietta, Ohio. He became interested in photography as a teenager in the 1970s, and has been a passionate student of the art ever since. Bruce recently won Photographer’s Choice award and Grand Prize at the 2015 Shoot the Hills Photography Competition in the Hocking Hills near Logan, Ohio. He has also instructed local classes in basic digital photography. Check out Bruce’s photos at Flickr
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

